jump to navigation

I hate upload sites. June 30, 2012

Posted by sgtkira in Uncategorized.
trackback

So, in my sadness and grief I never got the chance to pay for a jumbofiles account. Now, what does this mean, you may ask? If a file doesn’t get download in a certain amount of time then it dies. So now we have a good chunk of our files gone (again). Haven’t checked what’s here and what’s gone, but I don’t even know what to do anymore.

Can anyone here suggest something other than krdl? While I am leaning towards talking to them, it’ll still be putting all my eggs in one basket and I want more than one alternative. Thank you all.

Comments»

1. andy - June 30, 2012

test 4shared

2. sailorgallifrey - June 30, 2012

I don’t know what goes into this process, that KRDL isn’t a desirable option, but one basket is better than zero. That’s a lot of blood, sweat, and tears to have just go ka-poof until the next Megaupload can be found even as such sites continue to shut down filesharing one by one. I’d pounce on KRDL even as I looked for a plan B and plan C. (The most popular Plan B at the moment appears to be torrents. Also, Mediafire is still kicking, though you’d have to split a lot of files.)

sgtkira - July 1, 2012

No, it is our main option. I’m just asking about other options. I’m saying it only because if THAT goes down then we REALLY are fucked. It would just be nice to be able to have other options as well.

3. Phil - July 1, 2012

Try either 4shared or mediafire (just make sure you rename em into something completely unrelated to throw off suspicion and whatnot)

sgtkira - July 1, 2012

Might look into 4shared. And mediafire has it where we would have to split everything in half. That kinda sucks.

4. jai009 - July 1, 2012

http://www.packupload.com/faq

I’m trying out this site (it’s French btw). I think you’re gonna like this part of the faq and it states: How long do the files that I host on Packupload remain available online ? Your files remain available online as long as they are regulary downloaded.
A file is deleted if it is not downloaded at least once in two months for the guests and at least once in six years for registered members.

As a registered member it means your file will stay active for six years after its last download. I think that’s pretty cool and helpful. Download and upload speed is pretty good. And yes, I totally feel your pain. This file hosting situation is just ugh!

sgtkira - July 1, 2012

Wow that sounds kickass! Looking into registration now. I presume it’s free?

jai009 - July 1, 2012

Yes, registration is free.

5. Chris - July 1, 2012

4shared is a good idea.

6. blaze - July 4, 2012

maybe dropbox

7. ANTHONY VAN PYRE - July 22, 2012

IF YOU HAVE THE BANDWITH POGOPLUG WOULD BE A GOOD WAY TO GO. THEN YOU DONT HAVE TO UP THE FILES ANYWHERE. THEY ARE JUST PULLED FROM THE HD THEIR ON. EMAIL ME FOR MORE INFO. I USE IT AND IT WORKS GREAT


Leave a Reply

