jump to navigation

[Geki-Senshi] Juken Sentai Gekiranger 1-49 released! July 7, 2012

Posted by sgtkira in gekiranger.
trackback

Well, I’m sure all of you are fucking confused. Let’s start from the beginning. GekiKnight/SapphireMagnum/ThisAwesomeMotherfucker started doing Geki a while back. Life got him to stop, but he was able to come back, and I asked about helping out since Geki was one of my first Sentai and it holds a special place in my heart. The problem was the same problem we always have: Life. I got a good 20 something eps done where life took it’s toll and I had to stop fansubbing as a whole for a bit. Thankfully, my passion for the work came back, but we were able to get the lovely Alkaid to QC/edit things in my absence. So I want to say the episode count was me 35 and her 15. Her eps were really good though, and I was so happy she was able to come on and work with us. So, basically, this was a project that wasn’t supposed to take too much time (in the beginning I was doing 1-2 a day), but then life bit me in the ass and here we are. The good thing that came out of all of this is that other translators are still working on whatever they’re working on, so I just need to go back to editing more GoGo and Kaku, and then when the translator comes back from vacation we can work on the scripts and put them out.

Now, about the subs. It’s a scrub, but this amazing guy over here is studying Japanese and is an amazing editor. So he was able to not only translate, but fix a few mistakes that he found. Then, I edited the script myself. So while this started as a scrub… the amount of Japanese TVN left in really turns this into a brand new sub that everyone should see. There are enough differences to make it feel as if you’re watching 2 separate shows. Just like our (Aesir & H-S) Boukenger, there are two separate scripts. We felt that there was so much Japanese, 2 scripts were needed. The first translates everything (Beast Fist Fighters Wildranger). It translates what the team are called (as shown), the mecha, and the weapons, while the other side (Juken Sentai Gekiranger) leaves those stuff in Japanese. As of right now we have MKV only, but it’s not a problem for a few reasons.  Most people complain about not being able to play MKV because they watch Over-Time and those normally look really good and your toasters can’t play them. However, we were unable to obtain DVD RAWs (if anyone has DVDs, please pass them along), so that means that the file should be supported by any system. (Use PS3 Media Server if you want to play them directly from your computer) Another is that the MKV is filled with both scripts. The default is Wildranger, but you can easily switch it to Gekiranger. We will be doing AVIs for both versions, but I was worried that someone would come up with DVD versions and our AVIs would become meaningless. So I might wait a bit. I’m sure unsure about that. We will have scripts though!

The movie and the specials will come out in the next month. We need a DVD RAW, and the one we have no has a glitch. If anyone has one in their possession, please pass it along.

And for the record. Sub ninjas exist. This was supposed to be out 2-3 days ago, but a mix of computer trouble and The Amazing Spider-man (which wasn’t bad, by the way) made this come out tonight.

MKV ddls: http://www.packupload.com/NMHT5JI3IL0

Batch torrent: http://www.nyaa.eu/?page=torrentinfo&tid=329626&showfiles=1

Comments»

1. FZed - July 7, 2012

I would assume most people’s problems are that their toys don’t like softsubs. Thanks, looking forward to this, I’ve been enjoying the Advengers scripts.

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

Yeah I’ve noticed that, but it really depends on what you’re using. Compatibility for MKV/soft sub files are getting better and better. I’m able to watch these subs on my PS3, and people can even use PS3 Media Server for their Xbox 360’s. Or you can just cut that out and hook up your computer or laptop to your TV. And I’m happy you’re liking them!

FZed - July 15, 2012

How do you watch them on your PS3 without using PS3 Media Server? I got a guy who is trying to watch my stuff on his consoles and is having a lot of problems. I don’t really know much about this stuff, I always figured you’d have to hardsub the scripts to the video if you wanted to watch it on your console/toy of choice.

2. Zer-O - July 7, 2012

hmmm I already downloaded tv-nihon fan subs of geki ranger, since I watch their subs for kamen rider and (thanks to my younger brother) super sentai I might flip a coin on taking a look at your work although I’ve yet to find a problem with your subs, the only thing that kinda irks me about tv-nihon is how they take a while for older stuff, hell I’m still waiting on episode releases from them on Faiz, Kuuga, Agito, and the few super sentai they have yet to sub or finish subbing

Abigail - July 7, 2012

You are aware another group completed Kuuga back in 2010, yes?

Zer-O - July 7, 2012

nope, I tend to stick to one group when it comes to subs for a show I’m a little ocd about things like that

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

Well, it’s cool if you like the way people sub, but you gotta branch out if you want completed subs man. This relates to all groups. MCS did all of Kuuga, by the way.

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

Well I suggest you just watch what you love, really. I mean, if you’re okay with their typesetting and the amount of Japanese they left in this show (this is a show with a LOT of Japanese words), then go ahead. But if you want everything in English, then we have one script like that, and even the other script that keeps in some Japanese things translates “Jan speak” (If you haven’t seen Geki, the main character isn’t a native Japanese speaker so he speaks in descriptions, basically. Things like nicey nicey or goody goody. We translated them to help you understand what is going on in the scenes he’s in) I mean, go with what you like, but you could just give both ep 1s and try and see which one you prefer.

3. jai009 - July 7, 2012

Cool. Thanks so much. I see you’re using Packupload. Not a bad site huh? I think the speeds could be better but eh, small price to pay for file longevity, don’t you think?

FZed - July 7, 2012

I’ve never heard of Packupload until now but it seems pretty nice. I like that there don’t seem to be any captchas.

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

It really does seem like a good site. Uploading all our stuff onto there now.

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

Pretty much. I have yet to download (only uploaded a lot of shit so far), but it is by far the best site I’ve seen. If the site doesn’t change it’s rules, then our will probably be dead by the time a file is deleted lol

FZed - July 7, 2012

I just found out that Mediafire is starting to block some of my files so I might have to start using this packupload site also. Getting so tired of these filehost issues lately…

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

Same. This may be our default site from now on.

4. Rahan - July 7, 2012

Excellent work as always, Kira. I’ll be downloading this to watch with the lady as soon as possible. 😀

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

Good man! Hope you two like the show. It’s one of my favorites!

5. kudosforce - July 7, 2012

Wow, isn’t THIS a pleasant surprise. An entire show posted on here already completed!

I gotta say, congratulations to the folks who made this possible. 8) Since I stopped watching Power Rangers (besides a little of RPM) and went to Super Sentai, I never saw the show that adapted Geki so I’ll be sure to watch this once I get the chance.

You can also send out my thanks to the guy you mentioned. I have a feeling that things will go much more smoothly from this point on.

6. 鋏ジャガー - July 7, 2012

Congratulations, you’ve done it again you sneaky bastard. Perhaps you should consider changing your avatar to Sgt. Blindside?

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

I might! But I would have to do it more than twice to get a reputation… right…

7. virushopper - July 7, 2012

Fuck Yeah Kira! There goes my weekend!

sgtkira - July 7, 2012

haha Damn me and my subs D:

8. butteslord - July 8, 2012

I tried play episode 28 and it cut out at about 18-19 minutes. Re-torrented, same problem. What gives, yo

butteslord - July 8, 2012

after checking the DDL links, the version in the torrent is about ten megs short

sgtkira - July 8, 2012

Yes, we are aware of that and have replaced the torrent with a new one.

9. nejiblue - July 8, 2012

Considering that I know your not a fan of tv-nihon, I find weird that you scrubbed one of their releases. The bottom line is this. It’s the same translation, you just translated all villain names, attacks, mecha names, etc. I assume you translated jan’s odd phrases as well(I never had a issue with that considering the characters in the show were trying to figure out what he was saying too), and I never had any issues understanding what was going on when I watched it. So no, I don’t consider that “a whole new show”. That would be if you actually translated it yourself(or one of your friends I should say, I know your not a translator.)

My thing is this, you bash tv-n on a regular basis. However, if say they hadn’t started subbing till after gekiranger, you would never have been able to do this release. Maybe someday, but it would have taken much, MUCH longer. Frankly I’m not a fan of scrubbers generally. It strikes me as hypocritical to bash someones translation then use it as the basis of your release.

Sorry if this sounds harsh but I it’s something that is a an honest response that I needed to get off my chest. Honestly, I do wish you the best of luck with boukenger(you have ever right to sub/translate those shows yourself if you wish), gogo-V, kakuranger, and all the others.

sgtkira - July 8, 2012

Well, as I mentioned, the person who did this is a translator. He’s still studying Japanese, but I am okay with scrubbing things as long as A) I trust the translation and it’s really being done for better video quality or I just love the show and want to take a crack at editing it or B) There is a translator looking over it over with me. Thankfully we had him, and he fixed any translation errors he found (Yes, there were a few) and he was able to translate the rest of that stuff. Also, it’s just your own opinion that it isn’t a different show. I say this because with everything not translated, and no notes for reoccurring attacks (I know TVN leaves a note once and then never again), you have a new experience when you understand what something means 100% of the time. Same with Janglish (Jan speak). The characters aren’t confused because it’s like another language, it’s just the same reaction you would have if someone went around going “It’s super super!” and “It’s cooly cooly!” We do need DVD RAWs, though. Just to make it look prettier than existing subs, but on a visual level.

When do I bash them? I may joke around in the chatroom, but it’s just jokes. If you looked at one of our /m/ posts, you’ll see that I really do appreciate them because this was my first Sentai. How else would I have seen the show in the first place? And the scrubbers are doing this the way they do because they don’t have translators to help them out (though they do ask for TL checks every once and a while). We were just blessed with having somebody who was able to translate the words (not because of some google translate, because he actually knows some of the language), and pick up on any errors in the script. We both edited it as well, so while it isn’t Bouken, I do like to say that it’s different, and it isn’t just a direct lift.

It’s just fine. You have your own opinion because you’re human. Just know that it isn’t the same show because of what was translated and edited. I haven’t put both shows directly next to each other, but I’m pretty sure that there are differences that make both translations become their own thing. And remember that Geki is a compulsive editor. So if he wanted to make something flow better, yet still retained the same meaning in Japanese, then he would do it. (as did I)

10. 鋏ジャガー - July 12, 2012

Another thing to consider is the fact that while TVN does quality work, when you’re doing weekly episode releases, you have to get them out in a relatively timely fashion to appease impatient Toku fans, whereas scrubbers can take their time and be 100% satisfied when they work on a show. If you want to see just how impatient Toku fans can be, look at the comments people leave over at Over-Time, it’s amazing how they think the releases should adhere to their own personal schedules. Another thing to consider is that if they used the Portuguese subs for the timings, that means that every single line of the English translation had to be entered in manually, so they literally had their hands into every single line(and if they OCR’d the episodes themselves, that is also quite a lot of work). I can also attest that Sgt. Kira is not a TVN basher, in fact all of the Anon scrubbers are far more respectful than you would expect(Abigail from Midnight Crew is another story).


Leave a Reply

